Job Title: Personal Support Assistants
Location: Tangmere
Hourly rate: £12 per hour
Reference: JL177
Hours/shifts:

Tuesday – Friday:  5pm – 8pm; and

Saturday & Sunday: 10am – 2pm and 5pm – 8pm (two PAs per shift required)

Summary

We are looking for PA's for my elderly father aged 92 years who sadly lost his wife this year. My father is very independent person and doesn’t require any personal care apart from occasionally help in putting on his socks and getting in and out of the shower. He loves freshly cooked meals with lots of vegetables so you would be required to prepare some of these for him. He also loves to chat, to keep busy and go out.

My father lives in the lovely village of Tangmere in a quiet area near a church (which he loves to visit). As well as taking him out and supporting with meal preparation, you would be asked to assist with every day chores and occasional gardening.

Other Requirements
Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
Driver with access to own vehicle
Able to cover other P.A’s Holiday/ Sick days

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic -
All Laundry, hanging out to dry, putting away
Changing bed linen
Bed making
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Thorough clean of hygiene areas i.e., Bathrooms and Kitchen
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Food shopping- including keeping an eye on what I enjoy and use and ensuring I don’t run out of these things.
Maintenance of garden
Tidying and helping stay on top of paperwork
Other reasonable domestic tasks as and when they arise


Personal Care:
I do not need much assistance with personal care but I would appreciate having someone in the house whilst I shower.
I sometimes need reminding to care for myself, and a prompt for clean clothes/ showers / teeth can be helpful.
Assistance with medication (some of my tablets may have specific times so I will need you make sure I take them).

Social:
I enjoy attending church on a Sunday
I enjoy spending time with my family and friends
I would like to get back to social activities when COVID allows

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:

• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative.
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Positive and proactive
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives