Job Title: Self Employed Personal Assistant/Support worker

Location: near Felpham
Hourly rate: £18.00 per hour
Reference: TM7616
Hours/shifts: 6 hours per week – Typically 3 hour shifts twice a week on either a Tuesday/Wednesday/Friday morning.

Summary
I am a middle aged woman with Autism and anxiety. I am looking for a person to help me gain confidence and get out into the community. I would really like support to enjoy activities such as swimming at the local leisure centre, visiting coffee shops and trips to the beach.
I love being creative through painting and writing and I particularly enjoy attending an art group two times a week. I also have my art displayed in an online gallery.
I really want to be more active and would appreciate some help and support to research local MIND sport activities so that I can be more active and try different sports.
Opening letters, filing, calling people causes me a lot of stress and anxiety. I would like help to do all these things as well as support with medical appointments.
I am quite a quiet person, but do enjoy being around people.
A car driver is not essential as I use public transport to get around.
Experience of working and supporting people with mental health problems would be ideal, but not essential. I am looking for somebody who is understanding, empathic and supportive.

Other Requirements 
• Must be comfortable with pets (cat)

• Non smoker required due to medical reasons (asthmatic)

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic - The role has limited cleaning/tidying tasks. The PA would only be required to assist with domestic tasks if I am feeling too unwell to do it myself.

Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping
Tidying
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this

Social:
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, including to swimming lessons and walking along the beach.
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
• Occasional longer journeys
• Accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, beach, cinema ect

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.