Job Title: Support Worker
Location: Bognor Regis            
Hourly rate: £9.00       
Reference: DP353             
Hours/shifts:
Tuesday Wednesday 09:00 – 17:00
Every other weekend Saturday 09:00 – 17:00 Sunday 09:00-12:00
I am a friendly 37 year old man with Cerebral Palsy looking for support with personal care and to access my local community.

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description
I am a friendly 37 year old man with Cerebral Palsy looking for support with personal care and to access my local community.
I enjoy getting out and about and travel to Chichester regularly by bus. I enjoy going to the cinema and talking to my friends.
I speak three languages (English, French and Hungarian). You don’t have to be a polyglot like me, but I do really like having conversations so it would certainly help if you love a chat!
In addition to going out, I’ll also require support at home with washing, dressing and making breakfast in the morning.
Typical duties
Domestic -        
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Washing up
Shopping
Tidying
Making tea for the employer's guests
Personal Care
• Washing and showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
• Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
• Help getting into the shower as required
• To be on call when employer takes bath
• Assistance with applying cream
• General hair/skin care
• Using the toilet
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Getting into bed
• Assistance with getting out of bed using a hoist
• Help with dispensing tablets 
• Assistance with medication
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get changed at swimming pool/gym.
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food.
• Physiotherapy exercises
Social:   
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities.
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Occasional longer journeys
• Accompanying on trips out e.g, to see family.
• Driving and accompanying to social events such as:
• Cinema
• Accompanying on trips out e.g. to take photographs at the beach or in the woods or, visiting friends.
• Accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, beach, cinema, craft fairs, local visits, out shopping for fun, attending social events, attending therapies and disability group
• Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family
• Mathias uses an electric wheelchair.
• Whilst on duty at the employer’s home watching TV and assisting with computer and iPad.
• Lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s manual wheelchair when out. 
• Mathias has a BTEC in computing and occasionally wants help – if problem.
 
Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.
Applicant does not smoke and does not use his or her telephone during working hours.
Please note, if you are successful in your application for this role you will be employed through the individual employer and not Independent Lives.