Location: Chichester / Hourly rate: £10 / Reference: DP6337

Summary

The nature of the work is to provide personal, domestic and social support for me, the employer, in my home and in the community.

You will report directly to me as well as liaise with my partner.

I am a wheelchair user due to an accident I had in 2016 which has left me with limited movement.

Assist me with aspects of personal care

Assist me with my daily exercise regime

Prepare drinks and snacks as required

Assist me to access my local community as required 

Hours/Shifts

Post 1:1 hour per day Monday to Saturday

Post 2: 5 hours per day Monday to Saturday. 

Other Requirements

Must be comfortable with pets- dog

Must have a UK driving licence

Must have access to own vehicle

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Nature of the work:

Mainly personal care and domestic support along with some support to assist me to access my local community. 

Typical duties

Domestic -   

  • Prepare snacks and drinks for me
  • General domestic tasks

Personal Care:   

  • Maintain my safety 
  • Support me with all transfers; I use a hoist and a slide board
  • Support  me with getting up in the morning
  • Assist me with washing and showering and all aspects of personal hygiene and grooming
  • Support and assist with dressing and undressing
  • Assist me with leg stretches and using the standing frame and with exercising including using weights
  • Any other task that is reasonable

Social:         

  • Accompany me to social activities e.g cinema, fishing, pub

Person specification

The successful applicant will:

  • Be able to learn and understand the employer’s needs 
  • Be able to complete tasks to high standards of hygiene and health and safety
  • Be honest and cheerful with a good sense of humour
  • Be reliable with excellent timekeeping
  • Be flexible and have availability to help contribute to cover for other PAs’ holiday and sickness
  • Be able to respect privacy and confidentiality
  • Be able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Be willing to be police checked (enhanced DBS). Please note that a criminal record will not necessarily be a bar to obtaining the position
  • Be legally allowed to work in the UK
  • Be able to speak and understand English to a reasonable standard
  • Must be comfortable working in a home with pets; I have a small very friendly Jack Russell and an even smaller Pomeranian puppy 
  • Experience and knowledge of working with or caring for people with disabilities is preferred