Location: Worthing
Hourly rate: £10
Reference: Support Worker-DP6501
Hours/shifts: Up to 16.5 hours a week
Summary:

I am a 37 year old single mother, to an 18 year old with various disabilities. Her conditions have worsened, which means she can no longer take care of me and my needs.

I am looking for someone who is willing to take me to my medical appointments at Stanmore hospital, Middlesex, and those more locally. This would mean you need your own vehicle, and clean UK driving licence.

This would also mean using your vehicle, to assist in food shopping, and accessing the local community.
The role would also mean assisting with any household chores I can’t sort myself. I am relatively independent and do strive to be self-sufficient, but my serious medical conditions mean at times I need full bed rest. I may need help on these days with ensuring food, water and meds are available to me.

First aid training, or medical experience would be of assistance, but I can train you to assist my medical needs. Which is mostly learning to understand my disorders and how they can affect me, learning which meds I need and when, and how to put me in the recovery position after fainting.

I also need some help remembering daily schedules, appointments, like preparing to do lists, and filling in forms, as my short term memory is impaired, due to medication side effects.


Other Requirements (please edit as appropriate)
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Must be happy to work in a smoking environment
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Other: Must have good references
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.


Description
Typical duties
Domestic - 
• Helping with laundry, taking out rubbish, cleaning floors/widows/curtains, watering plants, preparing food, general cleaning.
• Driving to and attending medical appointments, support groups, and food shopping.
• Writing to do lists, filling in forms, and making phone calls.
• It will also be essential not to bring certain foods, or wear certain products, and to use cleaning products provided, due to serious allergies.

Personal Care: 
• Help with ordering and picking up meds.
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get changed and dried after hydrotherapy. Physiotherapy exercises at times.
• Bringing food and drink, for when I can’t get it myself


Social: 
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
• Accompany employer when accessing social and support groups
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Occasional longer journeys to Stanmore specialist hospital
• The above duties will involve driving the employer in the PA’s car, lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out. I mostly use my walking stick


• Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 

 
• Female due to personal care needs
• Able to tolerate the employer smoking in the work place, and 3 very friendly cats
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative and able to take teenage jokes and moodiness.
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.