Location: Worthing Hourly rate: £9.50 per hour Reference: DP904

Summary


Personal Care Assistant(s) wanted for young physically disabled woman. Your role will be to help me live independently in my home and community. Tasks include: personal care, domestic duties, cooking, social activities and putting to bed. Experience is not essential but being sensitive, willing to learn and practical is. Training will be given.
In return, you will receive the opportunity to gain the nationally recognised care certificate, regular support and the possibility of undertaking further accredited training such as QCF Level 2/3 in Health and Social Care.


Other requirements


UK driving licence preferred
Access to own vehicle preferred
Other : Non smoker
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.


Typical Tasks
Some tasks will be daily, others weekly. My needs vary greatly as to whether I am having a better day or when I am unwell (this happens often, and always after trips out of any length). As my needs vary, it is important that you are flexible about what the work involves and agree to undertake any other reasonable task that I request which is appropriate to the position. Your tasks will include:


Domestic -
Preparing and cooking food and drinks and clearing up afterwards
Shopping for food and other items needed
Changing bed linen
Laundry and Ironing
General cleaning
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.


Personal Care:
My personal care requirements are very specific and detailed. Full training will be given and a reasonably fit person should not find it too arduous once they have learnt the routine. It is essential that you are comfortable with this aspect of the job. To fulfil the role, you need to be sensitive and willing to learn. I wear an extensive plastic body brace at all times and am unable to come out of it at any time. I cannot bend or sit down. This means I have to be washed within my body brace, lying down on my bed and there is no aspect of my washing that I can do myself other than my face, hands and teeth cleaning.
Your personal care tasks will include:
Daily bed bath
Daily dressing and undressing.
Daily hair wash, dried and styled.
Assistance with toileting and all other reasonable personal needs.
Daily bed time routine.
Assistance to get up out of bed to use my female urinal, when I am unwell.
Regular re-filling of hot water bottles and adjusting or changing clothes and bedding.
Checking that I am comfortable within my brace and making any necessary adjustments.
You will need to learn my medicine timetable and administer medications and record it when this is necessary. This is not difficult and full training will be given.
Foot care and cutting of toenails
Monitoring pressure sores caused by the brace.
Reporting on the condition of my brace.
First aid in case of falls or accidents.
Coping with sickness and any accidents.

Social:
Helping me to access the local community.
Driving me to and from appointments, shops, visits to friends and family etc
Accompanying me and assisting me as appropriate on trips out.
Assisting me to continue and further my interests.