Location:             Lymington

Hourly rate:         £13.50 per hour

Reference:            HCC1385 

Hours/shifts: Weekend work approximately two to three hours Saturday and Sunday morning approx 9 till 11 or 12, Plus a visit to prepare lunch about 1 pm for half an hour and to leave a sandwich for supper.

 

Summary

Personal assistant/carer sought for man with MS.

I need support with getting out of bed.

I have a system of hoists in my house so experience with using hoists desirable.

I wear a convene so support is required to put this on.

I also have a pet dog and need support with taking them for a walk.

 

Other Requirements

 Must be comfortable with pets

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

Preparing meals

Personal Care: 

Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings

Getting in and out of bed

Assistance to move around house using hoists and wheelchair

Assistance with getting out of bed using a hoist

Help with dispensing tablets 

Assistance with wearing a convene

 

Social:        

Support with walking the dog

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.