Job Title: Personal Assistant/Support Worker
Location: Bognor Regis
Hourly rate: £9.00
Reference: DP353
Hours/shifts: Tuesday, Wednesday 09:00 – 17:00
Every other weekend Saturday and Sunday 09:00 – 17:00


Summary 
I am a friendly, chatty and sociable 39 year old man with Cerebral Palsy looking for someone fun and friendly to support with personal care and getting out and about.
I generally go to Chichester by bus and will need someone to come along with me to places such as the cinema and exhibitions. As we get to know each other, it would be great to travel a little further, plan other outings and find new interests.
I speak three languages (English, French and Hungarian) and generally speak a lot to my Hungarian friends. I also love making films and belong to a film club.
In addition to going out, I’ll also require support at home with washing, dressing and making breakfast in the morning. Training will be provided for this role.

Other Requirements 
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic - 
Changing bed linen
Bed making
Taking out rubbish
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals
Washing up
Tidying

Personal Care: 
Support with washing and showering and towel drying hair
Help getting in and out of the shower with hoist a long side another carer
Using the toilet
Dressing and undressing/helping with buttons and fastenings
Assistance with getting out of bed using a hoist
Support to put body brace on.
Assistance with medication - dispensing tablets
Remove the night convene which is attached to urine bag and empty urine bags.
Helping with other aspects of personal care as required
Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, opening up food packaging Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')

Social: 
Accompany me when accessing social and leisure activities. Such as Cinema, Exhibitions etc.
Occasional longer journeys
I use an electric wheelchair.
Whilst at home, watching TV, films, going on the computer or ipad, whilst Covid restrictions are in place.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be: (please add in/delete as applicable)
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties, use of hoist.
Creative, Fun and Friendly
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives