Job Title: Support Worker/Personal Care Assistant
Location: Amberley, Arundel
Hourly rate: £13.00 starting rate
Reference: BRR7425
Hours/shifts: 15 hours per week

Summary

• I am a 43 year old woman living looking for support, including accessing social and leisure activities, and within the home and family unit.
• I live with my husband/family in Amberley, Arundel
• I also require support and accompaniment to medical and other appointments.
• I have a good sense of humour, am creative, enjoy cinema and studying, and see things in black and white.
• I require a driver with their own car.
• Starting rate £13.00 per hour increasing after a successful probationary period.
• I have multiple conditions that affect many aspects of my life, but I try to stay as independent as possible.
• I am hoping to find someone who will support me through my good days and bad days.

Other Requirements 
• Must be comfortable with pets as I have two cats
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Knowledge of autism/neurodivergence would be advantageous.

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic -
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Changing bed linen
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping
Maintenance of small garden, perhaps half an hour a week
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
Making tea for my guests

Social:
● Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
● Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities.
● Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
● Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library.
● Driving me in your car and accompanying to social events such as cinema, visits to attraction with family.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
● Kind, caring and willing to take their lead from me as it is important to me to maintain as much independence as possible.
● Ideally have some flexibility around hours in order to fit in with my schedule
● Knowledge of autism/neurodivergence would be beneficial
● Be comfortable around cats
● Non smoker preferred or be willing to refrain from smoking at work
● Must be a driver with access to own car and willing to take the employer out in their car
● Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
● Reliable with good time-keeping
● Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
● Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
● Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
● Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
● Honest and cheerful
● Creative
● Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
● Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
● Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives