Location: Crawley / Hourly rate: £12 / Reference: GH5641

Summary

  • I am a 34 year old gentleman who lives independently but requires some practical support to be able to do so.
  • I have had a brain injury that means some situations are difficult for me.
  • I need a travel companion/support worker who is a positive and committed individual who can support me to learn skills to improve my quality of life, benefit from the Community where I live and develop friendships and links with others.
  • I am looking for a reliable, encouraging individual to help me with correspondence, emails and support me to access new social contacts and groups and help me research activities that would benefit me long term.
  • I would like some support too to maintain my home,
  • I would also like to think about having some one to help me regain confidence and independence to access evening social events such as pool and to help me reduce my anxiety in social situations.
  • You will need to be happy to work  on one evening a week  and flexible  within reason
  • Support with finding employment 

Hours/Shifts

10 hrs per week 

Other Requirements

  • Must have a UK driving licence
  • Must have access to own vehicle

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts. 

Description

Nature of the work:

Support Work.

Travelling Companion to reassure me when travelling to appointments and social events 

Typical duties

Domestic -       

  • Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
  • Helping with laundry, washing and drying 
  • Loading and unloading the washing machine
  • Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
  • Changing bed linen
  • Bed making
  • General cleaning
  • Taking out rubbish
  • General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming. 
  • Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
  • Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
  • Shopping
  • Tidying
  • Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
  • Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
  • Making tea for the employer's guests

Social:             

  • Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
  • Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, including to include, the gym, and pool. 
  • Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
  • Occasional longer journeys
  • Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library, 
  • Driving and accompanying to social events such as: pool, darts
  • Evening meetings such as support to play pool locally
  • Accompanying on trips out attending social events, attending therapies and disability group 
  • Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family
  • The above duties will involve driving the employer in the PA’s car

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
  • Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.