Job Title: Support Worker/Carer/PA
Daily rate: £100 - £120 per day
Reference: DP4482a
Hours/shifts: live in position available, to be discussed and negotiated mutually.


• Support Worker/Carer/PA, to assist with caring for my disabled 32yr old Daughter who requires a lot of assistance with everyday tasks including full personal care. She has a tracheostomy / laryngectomy, corrected spinal scoliosis and epilepsy
• She has a mind of her own with a great sense humour and a touch of mischievousness.
• The job involves, driving and supporting her at her day centre and full care and support whilst she is at home, you will always be working alongside another carer
• You need to be very outgoing and bubbly, sociable, have a sense of humour and not be afraid to sing songs and nursery rhymes out loud.

Other Requirements
• Must be a happy, bubbly, confident, reliable and motivated individual
• Must be happy to work in a smoking environment
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Typical duties
General household duties relating to the care of my daughter. Maybe additional house hold tasks whenever she sleeps for example:
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.

Personal Care:
Full personal care is required
Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
Assistance with applying cream
General hair/skin care
Suction/tracheostomy care
Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
Getting into bed
Assistance with getting out of bed
Assistance with medication

Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting my daughter to get changed in swimming pool/gym.
Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat
Physiotherapy exercises

Accompany my daughter when accessing social and leisure activities
Accompanying to doctors/hospital appointments when required
Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
Occasional longer journeys
Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library, walks, cinema, garden centre, beach craft fairs, local visits, attending social events, attending therapies, accompanying to social meetings e.g. friends, family.
The above duties will involve driving my daughter in the PA’s car, lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing my daughters wheelchair when out. Alternatively you will be required to assist and guide my daughter when she walks.
At home my daughter likes most things, musical toys, press button toys, painting and being sung to!

 Person specification - The successful applicant will be:

• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• 100% Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions accurately and work on own initiative
• Strong Hygienic ethics, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Additional Information
• Full guidance and training will be provided from the employer
Please note, if you are successful in your application for this role you will be employed directly through the individual and not Independent Lives.