Location: Shoreham
Hourly rate: £12.00
Reference: BRR7225
Hours/shifts: 10 hours per week
Summary

• I am a 36 year old female looking for support at home and in the community.
• I have an acquired brain injury with hearing and balance issues, which means that I have falls, suffer with hyperacusis and when I am unwell I need to rest at home for several days at a time. I find certain tasks like shopping and admin a challenge and being in environments that are busy and noisy are overwhelming for me, as I experience sensory overload. I wear noise cancellation headphones to cope with everyday noises.
• I have a dog, a 2 year old Cockapoo who is calm and friendly.
• I do not smoke, but I vape.
• I enjoy the outdoors, playing football, walking with my dog and socializing with my friends
• I require a driver to take me to appointments (my car can be used for this if you don’t have your own)
• I would like a PA to help me with the following tasks, some on a weekly basis and some will be on an adhoc basis: Support with doing laundry and light housework tasks when needed, admin and correspondence, dog walking & assist with dog training, support with food shopping and appointments (sometimes in London). No personal care required but occasionally help with medication, support with food preparation when I am unwell.
• I would like a PA who enjoys the outdoors and animals. Someone who is friendly, reliable and flexible. An understanding of brain injuries and vestibular issues would be helpful but not essential.

Other Requirements
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Non-smoker preferred but not essential
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Other : Access to own vehicle preferred, but not essential
Must be happy to work in a vaping environment

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description
Typical duties
Domestic -
Laundry, washing and drying and putting away
Changing bed linen
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
Light occasional housework, including cleaning, tidying, dusting and vacuuming.
Occasionally preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping
Assist with walking dog and training
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork.
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
Assist with attending appointments

Personal Care:
• Assistance with getting to and from the bed and the sofa when unwell
• Help with distributing correct medication into daily dosette pots
Social:
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, including football training, football matches, cinema, dog walks, dog training.
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Occasional longer journeys
• Accompanying on trips e.g. to the vet, to see friends and family
• The above duties will involve driving, some trips by the employer but mostly by the PA

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• A driver
• Able to tolerate the employer vaping in the work place
• Friendly and flexible
• Enjoys the outdoors and working with dogs
• An understanding of brain injuries and vestibular issues useful but not essential
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful with a good sense of humour
• Creative with a sense of adventure
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common-sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives